Spotlight On Kyle: Q&A With Epilepsy Lifestyle Blogger!

4B80C190-E7E9-42A9-B256-BBE3FFA85326

A huge thank you to Kyle for sharing his personal journey with Hope 4 Epilepsy blog! Kyle is an epilepsy warrior, advocate, and speaker who aims to inspire the epilepsy community in an uplifting way. Check out the q&a below to learn more about how Kyle advocates for the epilepsy community.

 

Shawnee: Tell me a little about yourself, and your epilepsy journey

 

Kyle: Things were going absolutely perfect up until one day in the 3rd grade. I remember walking down the hallway and then falling to the ground. When I woke up in the ambulance I realized something serious had happened. After going through some lovely medical exams, it was confirmed that my epilepsy journey had officially begun. It wasn’t until college when I really became aware and focused on my epilepsy as part of my lifestyle. I quickly learned that telling friends about your epilepsy is one of the biggest things you can do. It has opened so many doors from my social life to a working career. Aside from running my Epilepsy Lifestyle Blog, I am a Digital Marketing Assistant for a company in New York. I am blown away at how well my blog and social media accounts are being received!

 

Shawnee: How has living with epilepsy influence you to become an advocate/blogger?

 

Kyle: I began writing in my dorm room as a way to cope with my epilepsy. Not in a million years would I have imagined being this far. As time progressed and I began talking with other advocates, I realized how low epilepsy awareness really was. This was my driving force and motivation every day and still is. As an advocate, if I can inspire one person a day I will be extremely happy. I also believe that anyone with epilepsy has the ability to be an advocate with their inspiring backgrounds.

 

Shawnee: What lessons have you learned during this journey?

 

Kyle: The biggest and most important lesson I have learned throughout my journey is you need to tell your epilepsy story. Whether it’s just to your friends or on national TV, this will open doors for you. With your friends, it provides you with a sense of comfort when you’re around them hanging out. In public, you are showing the world how inspiring people with epilepsy can be on a daily basis. This one lesson has led me in so many different directions it’s unbelievable!

 

Shawnee: What is your biggest challenge you face every day while living with epilepsy? 

 

Kyle: With my seizures being partial seizures, I face the challenge of having a couple each day. While I do manage my lifestyle well in regards to my seizures, it still can become exhausting. It’s finding the right amount of time each day to take a step back and relax or face those seizures head-on if I have to. Epilepsy tests both our mental and physical strength daily.

 

Shawnee: What advice do you have for someone who has been newly diagnosed with epilepsy?

 

Kyle: If you have been recently diagnosed, my biggest piece of advice for you is to be patient. Yes, I know this may sound absolutely terrible, but let me explain. If you’re just starting to look for the right treatments moving forward, it’s important to always ask as many questions as possible. Don’t rush into anything, because finding the right treatment and doing it in the proper way is always better. Please ask those questions!

 

Shawnee: What’s next for you?

 

Kyle: It’s hard to say with how things are going for me right now with my epilepsy blog and other awareness stuff! I do have interviews set up moving forward both on social media and my blog to help collaborate with other amazing epilepsy advocates. I look forward to spreading as much awareness as possible, that’s for sure 🙂

 

Shawnee: What do you want your legacy to be?

 

Kyle: In regards to the epilepsy community, I want to inspire the epilepsy community in a way that people will feel comfortable sharing their stories knowing they won’t be judged negatively. If I can make one little mark in epilepsy awareness, I’ll be happy with the work I’ve done.

 

Thank you so much, Kyle, for your time, and sharing your wisdom and advice with us! You can visit Kyle on Instagram @epilepsylifestyleblog and visit his blog at http://www.epilepsylifestyle.com

 

One thought on “Spotlight On Kyle: Q&A With Epilepsy Lifestyle Blogger!

Leave a comment